didn’t go to church today

 

Recalling a situation where my moral values influenced the way I responded to an issue was when I decided to leave the Roman Catholic Church. I met with different priests, nuns, and lay people, listening to their arguments to why I was making a grave mistake. They used arguments that had been used for nearly 2000 years. They used hard line arguments and arguments of compassion. I understood these arguments because they were mine for many years. I had to deal with God forgiving me or if God was even concerned with what faith I believed in. The moral values that were instilled in me while growing up were important but how the church twisted them around no longer seemed logical. I thought those earlier moral values were true and I lived my faith accordingly. I did exactly what the church said I needed to do. I became very compassionate about contemplative prayer while a member of the Roman Catholic faith. It was through contemplative prayer that I started seeing certain arguments of the church that were wrong. The church was no longer compassionate and that was a strong moral value I had. The church was able to turn its back on a segment of society, and that was morally wrong as I understood my faith. There were no external forces trying to drive a wedge between me and the church. It was the moral teachings which became my moral values that made me want to leave the church. Logically I could put a list together of pros and cons of any faith. That list would be a list of pluses and minuses. It would be a list I thought up. My moral values list was a list of rights and wrongs. It was a list of how I felt. It was ironic that the moral values that were instilled in me were the very reasons I was leaving the church. It was the church that gave me the inner desire to change the path I was on. I look back at that decision process and I think when the thought of leaving the church first came to me, the best persuasive argument against it had been lost. I guess the consequences of my decision is yet to be known but I am a lot happier and more at peace then I ever had been.

3 thoughts on “didn’t go to church today”

  1. I believe that the consequence of your decision is known in that you are a lot happier and more at peace then you ever had been.
    The opening verses of the Dhammapada read that Buddha said:
    1. All that we are is the result of what we have thought: it is founded on our thoughts, it is made up of our thoughts. If a man speaks or acts with an evil thought, pain follows him, as the wheel follows the foot of the ox that draws the carriage.
    2. All that we are is the result of what we have thought: it is founded on our thoughts, it is made up of our thoughts. If a man speaks or acts with a pure thought, happiness follows him, like a shadow that never leaves him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

