went to see the teacher

 

went to see the teacher
at the local five and dime
i said got for me a minute
he said ain’t got time
got a truck load of dharma
waitin at the door
goes on sale tomorrow
wish I’d ordered more
i said what you sellin
he smiled with a wink
i can clean the soul
in the instant of a blink
i shuffled to the street
lookin for flavored tea
thinkin of buddha
and thinkin of me
the situation is tired
weary to the bone
tangled in fashion
sitting half lotus alone
my private thoughts pure
roshi reads my palm
for one dollar more
my heart could be calm
teacher are you serious
what do you expect
i’m not buying
and i know nothin yet

Leave a Reply

