cactus love

cutoff

at the knees,

staring

eye to eye,

with the dog,

pointless

attitude,

and curiosity.

the sword

is dull

that pokes,

at my throat,

and spits

in my face.

silhouettes dance,

with a swagger,

on every

command.

strangers

to my eyes,

my ears,

my taste,

and my flesh.

something

old fashioned,

something

different,

with scars

and tattoos.

this circus

can’t stop,

creeping

from the rocks,

wearing

ivory vests,

and crooked

smiles.

i blame

the sun,

my sweet

valentine,

waiting

on wars,

of saguaro

blooms,

and dessert

blossoms.

the shepherd,

makes up rules,

at the gate.

it’s a nice way

to spend,

a nice day.

2 thoughts on “cactus love”

  1. A Poem For You:

    “Dawn Java”

    The dawn is teasing the dark horizon, a pink-smeared promise along its edge.
    I cradle the warm cup between my hands, quiet solitude.

    The dark, sweet coffee rolls across my tongue like a samba,
    and I taste the shadows and sunshine of faraway places…
    a momentary romance, a travelogue of rich invitation.

    I close my eyes and inhale slowly, exhale slower still,
    finding the rythm of my day in the beating of my heart.
    I am most present in this moment and,
    whatever else may come,
    I am awed a humbled by my very occupation of this
    complex machinery of me….
    bound by its wonder, body and soul, science and mystery.

    The sun rises, as do I,
    and so begins another day.2

    Like

Leave a Reply

