pennsylvania

my organic

garden

is planted,

hens are

laying eggs.

a cock is

crowing at

a sun

that pays it

no never mind.

old dogs

are wet from

morning dew,

romping free

in a forest

of sounds

and smells.

my civil war

has ended.

my feet

are dry.

tobacco

has mellowed

my spirit.

my blood

has never

been so red.

my teeth

do not rattle

with empty

chatter. memories

have painted

my future

without pride.

anything empty

is bound

to be filled,

set free,

or left empty.

the sparrow’s

laugh will

eventually fade

from my ears.

tonight i will

sleep to

the song

of the little

brokenstraw.

 

 

One thought on “pennsylvania”

Leave a Reply

