mother

mountain.

loud and savage mountain.

beautiful mountain.

you are the ancestry

of my kindred spirit.

you

have given me

my name.

my sisters

are germinating

in liberal soil.

my brothers

are falling

from the sky.

never is the ballad

you sing,

generic.

you have

frightened me

with the wind,

and comforted me

with a breeze.

i wish to hide

in your belly.

your rivers

be the blood

to nourish me.

i have crawled

to your summit,

hiding in

a sterling mist.

i’ve stumbled

in your canyons.

mountain,

beautiful mountain,

a crescent moon

is your smile.

happy am i,

from your kiss

to my brow.

favored am i,

to be your son.

 

Leave a Reply

