the brightness of my dark

my nights are longer

than my days. a

waning crescent

moon transcends

remnants of a star.

my veins are frozen

with fire, my brain

a runaway train,

speaking with poetic

delusions. a moment

of calm would be

liberation. a litany

of silence a mending

grace. i have gathered

seeds of friendship

and goodwill from

my garden. i have

smudged my lips

with sage. on acute

knees i have chanted

the mantras and

accepted the

painlessness of

lust. i have woven

despair and joy in

duplicate tears. my

demise will be

everything it’s

meant to be. while

waiting my execution,

i smoke my tonic,

swallow my neutralizer,

and take cover behind

a romantic disguise.

Leave a Reply

