spirit of the law

had a conversation with the spirits of the
twilight in a tongue i understand. they know
my lies are desperation. some call it prayer,
or the weed again. it’s quiet meditation of
rolling thunder in a blue sky. i inhale
menthol ozone that fills my lungs. i’m a
concrete buddha dogs piss on in a forest
looking for trees. i have no plan of sacrifice.
creatures have eaten my face. swallowed
my soul whole. drummers drum a march to
the sea. i panic in bottomless wells. in
my sadness there is jubilee, in pain there is
rejuvenation. i listen to beat poetry on the
lips of kings. sweet grass purifies my
corruption. i just get bored. my circumcision
is the mutilation of my religion. spill my
ashes in a field of wild blooms. i dance with
commands from the winds. disappear like
second hand smoke of a glowing crucifixion.
i have swallowed blood and eaten flesh of a
thousand jew faced gods. hail charles
bukowski full of grace. my spanish boots
slide across the floor. my chest is pierced by
talons of the raven. if i anger you i
am satisfied. to sewer rats i am a poet
resonating necessary evil. salt of earth
devouring intuitive rhyme. blue is the new
white, red is the new blue, white the new
red of patriotic dead. moses used shock and
awe. i feed on buffalo wars. johnny comes
marching home on bum knees. on earth
as it is in heaven lou reed sings ride sally
ride. reclaim the millionaire’s pocket
change. fly with butterflies. sleep in
cardboard hotels. i pledge no allegiance
to awkward america for which it stands. we
fuck mother earth like a big breasted
whore. i write alley cat verse from one
bastard to another. i rest my head on a
granite stone. i am a crystallized sonnet
tattooed by the twilight in so many words
they cast upon of me.

Leave a comment